East Tennessee Society of Professional Journalists

Golden Press Card Awards

[Updated 6/20/08] 

The Golden Press Card Awards

is an annual awards program specifically for East Tennessee journalists, recognizing outstanding service and professional achievement. Journalists working in East Tennessee for daily and non-daily newspapers, other print media, radio and television stations as well as online Web sites may enter.

For information on categories, rules, fees, and to download an entry form, please click the appropriate entry in the column to the right.

If you have any questions, please e-mail our Communications Coordinator: etspj.communications@gmail.com.

Winners will be announced at our GPC Awards Banquet which will be held in May, 2009.  Arrangements will be announced in March, 2009.  At that time, a reservation form will be posted here and you may make reservations by check or by credit card.  If you choose to pay by credit card, please do so HERE

Golden Press Card Award Banquet  May 9, 2008

More than 80 journalists and guests attended our annual banquet at The Foundry Friday night to congratulate winners of this year’s competition.  The top two awards overall are the Horace V. Wells, Jr. Community Service Award and The Golden Press Card Award given to the top entrant among all the Award of Excellence winners in all categories.  This year we had unprecedented ties in both categories.

The Wells Award went to Scott Barker, Rebecca Ferrar, Ansley Haman, Hayes Hickman of the Knoxville News Sentinel for ”Knox County Turmoil;” and the Channel 10 News Team, WBIR-TV won for ”Knox County Files.”  The Judges said, “this is an ultimate public service with continuing commitment to follow through.”

The Golden Press Club Award was also shared by the two media on the same subject.  For this award, the Knoxville News Sentinel’s entry was “Knox County Chaos” by Rebecca Ferrar and Ansley Haman.  The GPC award comes with $100 to be shared by each winning team.

For the first time, ETSPJ held a High School Essay Contest in conjunction with National SPJ.  The ETSPJ winner was Christopher Bernard of Knoxville, who was presented with a certificate and a check for $50 during the GPC banquet.  He wrote about “Why free news media are important.”

All the awards may be viewed to the right under “WINNERS.”

TrackBack URI

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: